Noir meets reality

Key Light Test with an ARRI 650 (Roz Dean)

This video shows some great techniques for using an Arri 650 light. Hopefully I will be able to make my lighting decisions well in advance of shooting on location.

The light is placed to the camera’s right, about 7 feet high. Ideally for the Noir scenes I would like to just use one key light to emphasis the contrast between light and dark. I may decided to use one more fill light to capture the look in the actors eyes, but this is something I will have to do more research in.

Leave a Reply

