Noir meets reality

Daniel Minty Mission Statement

Mission Statement –

Johnny Noir sees the amalgamation of real life working class style argument in a combination with the early 1940’s noir aesthetic. During the course of this project, I have opted to work on the Sound Design and Post and I would also like to have an input into the Visual Post-Production and Location & Cast Management.

Firstly, Location during this project is vital. Scenes just as the very first lines where a lead protagonist is required to be floating in the water at a dockside comes with a hefty amount of paperwork, which is why we need to ensure that this scene is done fairly quickly. I propose that we perhaps reconsider this location and perhaps think of something a bit more feasible such as a lake to represent the dockside. I am quite concerned about this scene, but that is just an example of how important locations are for this – especially for the noir side – to represent areas that were perhaps around in the 1940’s.

Second, I am really looking to focus on the sound element of the project, both designing and in post-production. I’d especially like to work on the noir sound elements of the film. Taking from such influences as Touch of Evil (Welles, 1958) The Big Sleep (Hawks, 1946) and the almighty Sunset Boulevard (Wilder, 1950) I think this will feed into the way and shape that I design Johnny Noir. On a musical basis for the noir side – we need to find an orchestra or a non-commercial way to reconstruct the musical soundtrack of the piece which relies heavily on the stringed instruments and the clarinet. These are just a few things I am thinking about

Finally, I think the role of the cast and visual post-production roles are something I have experience with and feel that I could competently be involved within if needed.

Leave a Reply

